My Diet

healthy-diet

Holy cow! I can’t believe I haven’t written on my blog in so long! Has it seriously been a month?!?!? I have all of this great stuff to let you know about but I can’t seem to write it. I think this weekend I will experiment with some video blogging or vlogging as I think it is called. Plus, after I have my surgery, it will be neat to see my transformation.

I had my second to last doctor’s visit on January 14, I went up 4 pounds! The doctor and my health coach didn’t seem too worried about it because I have been walking a lot more than I used to. Partially, is due to my new position at work, it requires me to be up and around all over the place; whereas my last position I could not really leave my desk (I was in a call center). I am also walking more since the new year. I ride the bus to work every day and the bus schedule has changed which has me walking more. They say I am building muscle, I hope so, because it is a little discouraging.

My doctor has talked to me about changing my eating habits so I won’t be in such shock after surgery. I will not be able to eat carbs, sugar or dairy. I will also need to limit my alcohol and coffee (yikes)! On February 1st, I started a Keto/Paleo diet. You may ask what is Keto? What is Paleo?

Keto Diet – The idea of the ketone diet is to get your body into a process called Ketosis where you stop burning carbohydrates as fuel. Popular among many who are trying to maintain blood sugar levels and lose body fat, the main premise of this diet is, ‘eat fat to lose fat’. – taken from http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/sclark91.htm

Paleo diet – The paleolithic diet (also called the paleo diet, caveman diet or stone-age diet) is a diet based mainly on foods similar to those supposedly available to early humans in prehistoric times. It is based on what proponents claim paleolithic humans likely would have eaten, such lean meat, fish, fruit, vegetables, root vegetables, eggs, and nuts. It excludes foods such as dairy products, grains, sugar, legumes, processed oils, salt, and alcohol or coffee. – taken from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paleolithic_diet

I have eaten a Paleo diet before, I have actually created over 100 Paleo recipes but I have found a great (free) 14-day Keto/Paleo recipe book. I have prepared some of the meals and they are yum-yum, so delicious! Even my kids were eating them. If you want to check it out, there are 3 different kinds of free books that are offered – http://ketodietebooks.com/

Honestly, I have not been 100% following the diet, only because I am bad at preparing…I bought all of my food because there is a nice grocery shopping list for each week but when I come home dead tired and having to prepare meals just does not sound exciting to me. I will take this weekend to get my stuff together. I have noticed that I have a headache, I am sure that is from the caffeine withdrawal and probably less carbs than I am used to – this is what my doc warned me about – the KETO FLU! I do feel better though, I actually had a pep in my step!

 

